万物互联价值指数

思科全球研究与经济实践部对 7,501 位来自大中型企业的业务和 IT 专家进行了一项名为'万物互联价值指数'的开拓性网上调查。 其目标是衡量当前万物互联 (IoE) 对来自 12 个全球最大经济体的私营部门的影响,这些经济体包括澳大利亚、巴西、加拿大、中国、法国、德国、印度、日本、墨西哥、俄罗斯、英国和美国,它们合计约占全球国内生产总值的 70%。 通过这些结果,思科能够衡量公司 2013 年实际实现价值占 潜在价值 的份额大小,并深入了解可提高价值的关键 IoE 推动元素 (人员、流程、数据和事物)。

什么是 IoE 得分?

什么是 IoE 得分?

IoE 得分

2013 年实现价值(实际)占 2013 年风险价值(潜在)的份额大小。 IoE 计分模型采用综合方法囊括了企业能力及按国家/地区和行业的客观测量。 该模型的组成部分主要分为以下两组:

特定公司因素

包括跨越三种联接类型的企业能力:机器间 (M2M)、机器到人员 (M2P) 和人员间 (P2P)。 作为全球市场研究的一部分,这三种联接类型在现有的技术使用及管理实践方面已经过测试。

环境因素

包括转型 IT 投资(尤其是针对 IoE 相关重点领域的 IT 投资,如新业务模型和企业转型)、创新工作效率和网络质量。 加入这些因素是为了正确体现受访公司所处的市场。

什么是潜在价值?

按照思科的定义,风险价值是企业和行业根据其驾驭万物互联的能力可创造或将迁移的潜在利润价值(14.4 万亿美元)。 思科已确定了一些使用案例,可提供企业和行业间如何创造和迁移价值的具体示例。

值得注意的是,虽然未来 十 年的 14.4万亿风险价值确实包括了小型企业,但是,所有 IoE 得分计算都基于实现价值和风险价值数,其中排除了员工数低于 500人的公司,留意到这一点非常重要。 出于对足量样本获取、成本及可用应答者适用性方面的实际考虑,思科并未将小型企业包含在万物互联价值指数中。

什么是实现价值?

2013 年从万物互联中实现的实际价值,由思科的综合模型估计得来。

在衡量实现价值时,思科参照的时间为一年,这是因为万物互联价值指数是当前状态能力的写照。 此过程要确定实现的实际价值,而不是潜在的风险价值。 衡量实际值的唯一方法就是将时间设定在一年 (2013) 内。 万物互联价值指数未来的迭代将着眼于之后的几年,要对照长期风险价值机会跟踪所取得的进展。

值得注意的是,实现价值排除了员工数低于 500 人的公司。 出于对足量样本获取、成本及可用应答者适用性方面的实际考虑,尽管这些小型企业在总体风险价值份额中占据了重要的 40%,但思科并未将它们包含在万物互联价值指数中。 虽然未来 10 年的 14.4 万亿风险价值确实包括了小型企业,但是,所有 IoE 得分计算都基于排除了员工数低于 500人的公司后的实现价值和风险价值数。

三种联接类型

联接类型

IoE 计分模型使用了三种联接类型来评估公司如何驱动 IoE 价值。

机器间联接 (M2M)

M2M 联接以物联网和传感器中的技术能力为代表。 M2M 联接通常存在于实物资产的跟踪、通过传感器数据进行的运营优化及系统或机器的远程监控过程中。

机器与人员间联接 (M2P)

M2P 联接的特征在于技术分析能力,包括信息面板等元素以及使用海量数据的能力。

人员间联接 (P2P)

P2P 联接以劳动力协作等技术能力为代表,包括统一通信和专家定位器。

四个数据元素

IoE 价值指数取自 12 个全球最大的经济体,其 GDP 合计约占全球 GDP 的 70%。这些选定的国家/地区组还包括不同地域以及发达和发展中经济体的组合。

  • 澳大利亚
  • 巴西
  • 中国
  • 加拿大
  • 法国
  • 德国
  • 印度
  • 日本
  • 墨西哥
  • 俄罗斯
  • 英国
  • 美国

五个价值驱动因素代表了重要的业务活动领域,它们不仅仅是关键职能,同时各自也具有实现 IoE 价值的特定机会。 这些职能和 IoE 之间的关联通过一些用于论证每个价值驱动因素的机会的重要基础使用案例得以证实。 这五 个价值驱动因素可支撑思科在早期确定总体 IoE 潜在价值规模的分析。

  • 资产利用率 - 改进业务流程执行及资金使用效率可降低 SG&A 和 CoGS。
  • 员工工作效率 - 更少或更多的生产工时可提高劳动效率。
  • 供应链/物流效率 - 消除浪费并提高流程效率。
  • 改善的客户体验 - 客户数量的增加可提高市场份额。
  • 创新 - 新的业务模式和机会可提高研发回报率、缩短上市时间并创造额外的收入来源。

思科选择了九个行业,以更好地了解 IoE 对有代表性的重要行业样本的影响。 选择行业时,思科考虑了用于论证 IoE 如何影响当下的基本使用案例,也考虑了行业公司在 12 个受访国家/地区的实际分布情况。

  • 金融服务 - 银行;金融;保险
  • 零售/批发/酒店 - 零售;酒店;餐饮服务;批发;包括娱乐(主要是酒店和餐厅)
  • 能源 - 石油;天然气;公用事业;包括采矿和能源精炼
  • 医疗卫生和生命科学 - 私营部门医疗卫生提供商和付款方(政府除外);药品;生物科技
  • 服务 - 专业、企业、环境服务;房地产;包括私营部门教育
  • 运输业 - 航空公司;铁路;货运;仓储和物流
  • 科技与电信 - 科技;电信;信息;媒体;包括高科技制造
  • 制造业 - 汽车;工业制造;航空航天;工艺制造(不包括药品)
  • 其他 - 包括农业、建筑业及所有其他行业

执行 IoE 研究的重点在于全球私营部门内的公司,选择了三个规模带,其目的是获得每个国家/地区大中型及企业级公司的样本。 出于对足量样本获取、成本及可用应答者适用性方面的实际考虑,思科并未将小型企业包含在内。 所有实现价值的计算(及其相应的潜在价值“分母”)都排除了员工数低于 500 人的公司。

  • 500 - 1,999
  • 2,000 - 9,999
  • 10,000 以上

三种数据视图

IoE 价值指数可衡量公司 2013 年实际实现价值 (VR) 占 2013 年潜在风险价值 (VAS) 的份额大小。 我们所用的模型探索了涉及多种公司特定因素和环境因素的关键推动元素(人员、流程、数据和事物)。 鉴于包含的一系列元素,IoE 价值指数的结果可能会按国家/地区、价值驱动因素、行业和企业规模进行细分。

#1 - 完整的介绍#2 - 对比细分市场#3 - 对比联接类型
这种视图适用于各个国家/地区、价值驱动因素或公司规模,可显示所有 IoE 价值指数输出的完整介绍。 以这 20 个不同观点中的 一个作为示例,选择某个国家/地区可显示该国家/地区中所有受评估公司 IoE、VR、VAS 和联接类型(M2M、M2P 和 P2P)的得分,以及该国家/地区中某公司按五个价值驱动因素及三种公司规模分类的平均 IoE、VR 和 VAS 结果。IoE 价值指数的广度允许对 IoE、VR 和 VAS 得分进行细分市场内的比较。 例如,对比“按国家/地区的价值驱动因素”会显示每个国家/地区的得分(确实为该国家/地区内受评估的企业),按价值驱动因素排列。 这表示用户会看到某个价值推动因素下各个国家/地区之间公司平均能力的比较情况,例如资产利用率。 通过该显示结果,用户还可以更改视野内的元素。例如,选择“行业”后将显示 IoE 价值指数中包含的 九个行业的各项得分,同时还可以在视野范围内的 九个行业中加入或排除任一项。

Internet of Everything Value Index

The Cisco Global Research & Economics Practice conducted a ground-breaking online survey of 7,501 business and IT professionals from large and mid-sized companies called the Internet of Everything Value Index. The goal was to measure the current impact the Internet of Everything (IoE) is making on the private sector across the 12 largest global economies: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Japan, Mexico, Russia, United Kingdom, and United States, which together account for roughly 70% of the global gross domestic product. The results enable Cisco to measure actual value realized by firms in 2013 as a share of potential Value at Stake and explore key IoE enablers (people, process, data, things) that drive value.

What is an IoE Score?

What is an IoE Score?

IoE Score

The 2013 value realized (actual) as a share of the 2013 Value at Stake (potential). The IoE scoring model takes a comprehensive approach to include both company capabilities and objective measures by country and industry. The components of the model are divided into two primary groups:

Company Specific Factors

These include company capabilities across three types of connections: machine-to-machine (M2M), machine-to-people (M2P), and people-to-people (P2P). These three factors were tested as part of the global market research with respect to the existing technology usage and management practices.

Environmental Factors

These include transformational IT investment (particularly IT investment targeted at IoE-related focus areas e.g. new business models, company transformation), innovation productivity and network quality. These factors were included to give an appropriate indication of the market in which the surveyed firm exists.

What is Value at Stake?

As defined by Cisco, the potential $14.4 trillion bottom-line value that can be created or will migrate among companies and industries, based on ability to harness the Internet of Everything. Cisco has identified use cases that provide specific examples of how value can be both created and migrated between companies and industries.

While the $14.4 trillion Value at Stake over 10 years does include small businesses, it is important to note that all IoE score calculations are based on value realized and Value at Stake numbers that exclude companies with fewer than 500 employees. Small businesses in the Internet of Everything Value Index were not included because of practical considerations involved with getting adequate sample sizes, costs, and the suitability of available respondents.

What is Value Realized?

The actual value that has been realized from the Internet of Everything in 2013, as estimated by Cisco’s comprehensive model.

In measuring value realized, a one-year time period is used because the Internet of Everything Value Index represents a snapshot of current state capabilities. What this is establishing is the actual value realized, rather than the potential Value at Stake. The only way to measure the actual is to focus on one year (2013). Future iterations of the Internet of Everything Value Index will look at subsequent years to track how much progress is being made against the long-term Value at Stake opportunity.

It is important to note that the value realized excludes companies with fewer than 500 employees. Although these small businesses account for a significant 40% share of the overall Value at Stake, they were not included in the Internet of Everything Value Index because of practical considerations involved with getting adequate sample sizes, costs, and the suitability of available respondents. While the $14.4 trillion Value at Stake over 10 years does include small businesses, all IoE score calculations are based on value realized and Value at Stake numbers that exclude companies with fewer than 500 employees.

Three Connection Types

Connection Types

The IoE scoring model uses three types of connections used to evaluate how firms are deriving IoE value.

Machine-to-Machine (M2M)

M2M connections are represented by technical capabilities in the Internet of Things and sensors. M2M connections are typically present in tracking physical assets, optimizing operations through sensor data and monitoring systems or machines remotely.

Machine-to-People (M2P)

M2P connections are characterized by technical capabilities in analytics and include such elements as information dashboards and the ability to use large amounts of data.

People-to-People (P2P)

P2P connections are represented by technical capabilities such as workforce collaboration, including unified communications and expert locators.

Four Data Elements

The IoE Value Index was fielded in the 12 largest global economies, which together represent approximately 70% of worldwide GDP. The selected group of countries also includes a mix of geographies, as well as developed and developing economies.

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • China
  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Russia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

The five value drivers represent important areas of business activity that are not only key functions, but also each hold certain opportunities for realizing IoE value. The connection between these functions and the IoE is demonstrated by key underlying use cases that were used to illustrate the opportunity in each value driver. These five value drivers also underpin the earlier Cisco analysis that sized the total IoE Value at Stake.

  • Asset Utilization - Reduced SG&A and CoGS from improving business process execution and capital efficiency.
  • Employee Productivity - Labor efficiencies from fewer or more productive man-hours.
  • Supply Chain / Logistics Efficiency - Elimination of waste and improved process efficiencies.
  • Improved Customer Experience - Increased market share from adding more customers.
  • Innovation - Increased R&D returns, reduced time to market, creation of additional revenue streams from new business models and opportunities.

Nine industries were selected to better understand the impact of the IoE on a representative sample of major sectors. Selection of these industries was driven by the underlying use cases which are used to illustrate how the IoE can have impact today and by the actual distribution of firms by sector in the 12 countries surveyed.

  • Financial Services - Banking; finance; insurance
  • Retail/Wholesale/Hospitality - Retail; hospitality; food services; wholesale; includes recreation (largely hotels + restaurants)
  • Energy - Oil; gas; utilities; includes mining, energy refining
  • Healthcare & Life Sciences - Private sector healthcare providers and payers (excluding government); pharmaceuticals; and biotechnology
  • Services - Professional, business, environmental services; real estate; includes private sector education
  • Transportation - airlines; rail; shipping; warehousing and logistics
  • Technology & Telecom - Tech; telecom; info; media; includes high-tech manufacturing
  • Manufacturing - automotive; industrial manufacturing; aerospace; process manufacturing (excludes pharmaceutical)
  • Other - Includes agriculture, construction, all other

The IoE study was conducted to focus on firms within the private sector worldwide, with three size bands selected in order to get a sample of the medium, large and enterprise-class companies in each country. Small businesses were not included because of practical considerations involved with getting adequate sample sizes, costs, and the suitability of available respondents. All value realized calculations (and their corresponding Value at Stake “denominator”) exclude companies with fewer than 500 employees.

  • 500 - 1,999
  • 2,000 - 9,999
  • 10,000+

Three Data Views

The IoE Value Index measures actual value realized (VR) by firms in 2013 as a share of the potential 2013 Value at Stake (VAS). Our model does this by exploring key enablers (people, process, data, things) that involve various company-specific and environmental factors to drive value. Due to the array of elements included, the IoE Value Index results may be segmented by country, by value driver, by industry, and by company size.

#1 - Full Profile#2 - Compare Segments#3 - Compare Connection Types
Available for each country, value driver or company size, this view displays a complete profile of all IoE Value Index output. As an example of one of these twenty distinct views, selecting a country will display the IoE, VR, VAS and connection type (M2M, M2P, P2P) scores for all evaluated firms in that country, along with the average IoE, VR and VAS results of a firm in that country by each of the five value drivers and by each of the three company sizes.The breadth of the IoE Value Index allows for segment-within-segment comparisons of IoE, VR and VAS scores. For example, comparing “Value Driver by Country” displays scores for each country (really the companies evaluated in that country), organized by value driver. This means the user would see how average company capabilities in a certain value driver, such as asset utilization, compare from one country to another. The display also allows the user to change elements within the field of view.Displays a side-by-side comparison of the IoE, VR, VAS and connection type (M2M, M2P, P2P) scores for each of the country, value driver, industry, and company size segments. For example, selecting “industry” will display the various scores for each of the nine industries included in the IoE Value Index, while also providing the ability to include or exclude any of the nine industries from the field of view.